Bringing Back Coulson: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

On behalf of all Marvel fans everywhere, I would just like to say: thank you ABC. Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has had fans in a tizzy since they announced the official pick up of the show in May of this year. Last Tuesday the show finally aired, and with that, millions of people sat down to catch the pilot of this long-awaited show. And to once again watch our beloved Phil Coulson on-screen.

From unknown on Tumblr.

From unknown on Tumblr.

In the recent years more Marvel characters are have been starring in their own movies, and after The Avengers release in May of 2012, we’ve all been twiddling our thumbs in wait of the next round of movies. It’s hard to go and see Robert Downey Jr. kick butt in the theaters in Iron Man 3 and have to wait six whole months for Thor 2. Luckily, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is here to calm our nerves.

If any of you are like me, you turned into a little puddle of heartache when Coulson was killed at the end of the Avengers. Of course that just means that when I finally saw him emerge from the shadows in that first glimpse of the new show I squealed like a small child from all of the excitement. But when I sat down last weekend to watch the premier I realized I didn’t really have any expectations from the show. I was so excited for Coulson to be alive that I didn’t even really care what happened in the show. But the truth is, obviously, I do care.

And they didn’t disappoint. Right off the bad they’ve dragged me into questions. It’s explained that once Coulson left the site of The Avengers he went to Tahiti to recover. It is also mentioned that Coulson doesn’t know exactly what happened there. I can already here the fans now, going from asking, “What happened in Budapest?!” to “Wait, what happened in Tahiti?!” Poor Marvel fans. We just want answers. But questions like that are what keep us interested and launch plots lines. Not only are we going to be able to figure out what it is that really goes on behind the scenes at S.H.I.E.L.D. but we get to solve the mystery that is Agent Coulson.

It’s the beginning of a brand new show, so nothing can truly be judged yet. But here’s to hoping that the character chemistry and plot lines make this show as amazing as we all want it to be.

The show airs Tuesday nights at 8 on ABC. Be sure to tune in tonight for episode two!

Leave a Reply

