Top Five Favorite Doctor Who Episodes

Well guys, it’s almost here. Four days from now…well four days from now I will be working and missing out on the TV event of the year. But more importantly, four days from now most of the world will get to witness The Day of the Doctor! So to celebrate let’s take a look at my top five favorite episodes. (New Who of course).

I apologize in advance for the few two-episode combos. But they had to be chosen. 

5.  7.01 – Asylum of the Daleks 

This was the first episode of Doctor Who that I ever saw. My best friend was a huge fan, and she watched it with two of normal_DW_7x01_Asylum_of_the_Daleks_781our other friends while I sat and played the sims. I didn’t pay much attention to it at all, I mean my sims are very important after all. But I do remember the ending, when I looked up and saw Jenna  Louise Coleman, tears in her eyes, stuttering, “Eggs. Eggs. Eggs.” And even though I knew absolutely nothing about the show, I could see it on my friends’ faces as the connection was made, that she was, in fact, a Dalek. And if there is one regret I have about this show, it would be not watching it sooner. Because I was there, watching it, and I watched as Clara leaned back and said, “Run you clever boy, and remember.” And I wish I knew that her look was important, and would mean something.

4.  4. 14 – Journey’s End

normal_Journey_s_End_0534

The reason I love Journey’s End is very similar to the reason why I’m looking forward to the 50th. I love seeingeverybody together again. I’m sentimental. I can’t help it. Not to mention after two seasons Rose was finally given the ending she deserved. A happy one. Seeing everybody working together to help the Doctor, his family come together to protect him, even though he’s always so sure he’s the one who needs to do the saving. It was like the end of an era, the end of my favorite era. And for that reason alone it sits on this countdown.

Rose: My name’s Rose, Rose Tyler. 

Martha: Oh my god. He found you.

3.  1.09 & 10 – The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances

The_Empty_Child_130I love the historical-based episodes. And I love the Doctor and Rose. And I love Captain Jack Harkness. So put those all together and what do you get? You get a creepy kid in a gas mask asking everyone, in the creepiest little british kid voice, “Are you my mummy?” This new team, rather reluctantly on the Doctor’s part, work together to help the little boy find his mother. They save all of London, and they gain a powerful ally in Captain Jack. And for once, dear reader, everybody lives!

 Rose: Look at you, beaming away like you’re Father Christmas!

Doctor: Who says I’m not, red-bicycle-when-you-were-twelve?

Rose: What?

2.  5.10 – Vincent and the Doctor

This might be one of the only episodes that didn’t have me crying because of heart-breaking losses. It had me crying DW_5x10__Vincent_and_the_Doctor_366because of how incredibly touching it was. Filler episodes like this one typically don’t keep me as interested, but considering this one was a Historical Figure episode as well as a beautiful story, well it caught my eye in a very particular way. I don’t think anything has beat that scene with him staring at his work in a gallery–just, chills. Every time. Their dealing with his depression was inspiring, showing in an incredibly real way that people who suffer from those times of hopeless thoughts will never truly see how important they are to the universe unless somebody shows them how they’re seen from the outside. They may not have been able to save his life, but they made it a little bit better. And isn’t that what the Doctor is really about? Trying to make things better?

 Vincent: But you’re not armed. 

Doctor: I am!

Vincent: What with?

Doctor: Overconfidence, this, and a small screwdriver I’m absolutely sorted. 

1.  2.09 & 10 – The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit


The_Satan_Pit_926

Doctor who very rarely deals with today’s religions–God, the Devil–but this one was different. Not only do they dealwith the Devil, who is literally the most evil bad guy the Doctor had ever faced, but they deal with the issue of the Doctor’s personal beliefs (which comes back into play later on with Eleven). On top of that, it’s another one of the Doctor’s sacrifices for Rose, only this time is at a must stronger point in their relationship than when he’s made sacrifices for her before. And from this stems one of my favorite Doctor Who quotes. 

Doctor: Because if there’s one thing I believe in…just one thing…I believe her.  

Photo Credit to http://doctorwho.sonicbiro.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

