Top Five Favorite Bromances

Now that we defined what it actually means, lets take a look at which lovely boys made the Tuesday Top Five.

5. JD and Turk – Scrubs

There’s really only one way to put it. “It’s guy love. Between two guys.” They were the first friendship I saw that was giphy (1)basically a romance without the romantic feelings. (Maybe a little with the romantic feelings who knows). It was so pure and innocent and beautiful. It was the first time that the sort of friendship we now have a name for really clicked for me. Back in the day, everyone that loved Scrubs loved it mainly for their relationship. They are goofy, ridiculous, immature, and perfect for each other.

“Maybe some day he’ll love me like that.” -Carla

Gif Source

4. Sherlock and John – “Sherlock”

Again, I’m not one to ship these two, but as friends I absolutely love them. They are two very unlikely friends that care tumblr_mexlvuuMDI1rm3tppo1_500for each other despite their  opposite personalities. It’s the story of how two people who didn’t have anyone else were brought together by fate and a mutual love of solving crimes. The two of them have this bond that isn’t like a lot of the other ones we see. It’s like their friend sole-mates. Friend mates. Yeah that’s it.

“I am dismissive of the virtuous, unaware of the beautiful, and uncomprehending in the face of the happy. So if I didn’t understand I was being asked to be Best Man, it is because I never expected to be anybody’s best friend. And certainly not the best friend of the bravest and kindest and wisest human being I have ever had the good fortune of knowing. John, I am a ridiculous man, redeemed only by the warmth and constancy of your friendship” -Sherlock Holmes

Gif Source

3. Scott and Stiles – “Teen Wolf” 

I won’t lie, Stiles is really my main reason for watching this show. He is one of the funniest characters on the countless number of shows that I watch, and to top it all off his brotherly relationship with Scott is lovely. I knew from the very tumblr_m55k4wsiII1qfcvcuo1_500first episode that I would love the two of them. They have that crazy sort of friendship, that kind that is fun but at the same time loving. They both clearly care about each other without even really needing to show it. They feel comfortable throwing around “I love you, you’re my best friend” without  getting weird like some high school guys would. It’s clear that the two of them formed an indestructible bond during their childhood when both went through traumatic events (Stiles with his mother’s death and Scott’s involving his father leaving). And it is also clear that because of that they can overcome anything, even one of them transforming into a supernatural beast that sometimes wants to kill everyone.

Scott: It all started that night, the night that I got bitten. Remember the way it was before that? You and me?We were nothing. We weren’t popular. We weren’t good at lacrosse. We weren’t important. We were no one. Maybe I should just be no one again. No one at all.

Stiles: Scott, just listen to me. You’re not no one. Scott, you’re my best friend, okay, and I need you. Scott, you’re my brother. Alright, so if we’re going to do this, then I think you’re just gonna have to take me with you then.

Gif Source

2. Cory and Shawn – “Boy Meets World” 

Before there was “the bromance”, there was Cory and Shawn. They are the Bromance that started all Bromances. tumblr_lmcgbcR97m1qb7645o1_500Before we even had a word for it, or a stigma behind that word, they were there. Growing up, for those of us in that generation at least, all most of us wanted was the kind of friendship Cory and Shawn had. They were there from elementary school to high school to college. They were there for every sitcom milestone, through first dates and proms and marriages. In our early friendships they were inspirational, and as television goes  they will go down in history.

Cory: You know what Shawnie? I always thought that Topanga was the one person I could never live without. But she’s gone. And you’re here. And I’m alive, so it must be you!

Shawn: I’d take a bullet for you. 

Gif Source

1. Shawn and Gus – “Psych”

Okay so I know that this one might be anticlimactic. A lot of the times when I mention this little fact to people they have one of two responses. 1) “Who?” or 2) “Really?” The answer is yes, people. I don’t know if anybody has really watched this show, but you should, it’s charming, funny, witty and fun. There is something about the giphychemistry between Dule Hill and James Roday that just makes everybody happy. They seem like the type of people that you want to hang out with regularly. But more importantly, they demonstrate a type of friendship that you really only have with the friends that you’ve been close too since early childhood. They truly act like brothers. They fight and bicker and get mad at each other but no matter what they get over it, because to them not being friends just isn’t even an option. And now that I’m older, I relish friendships like that, the kind that no matter what happens–time, distance, hardships–they are indestructible.

“That is not what makes him great, no sir. Burton Guster has been my best friend since we were five. And maybe, just maybe, if any of you can look yourselves in the mirror and know you’ve been half as good a friend to someone else as Gus has been to me, well you too can be considered great.” – Shawn Spencer

Gif Source

Leave a Reply

